Meet Calypso!

She was so tiny and skinny when she first showed up!

She was so tiny and skinny when she first showed up!

It’s been almost three months since Calypso showed up outside our door. This was very shortly after Little Kitty had passed away, so I was trying to not get too attached to her. Plus, she looked just like Little Kitty, so I was thinking she might have been related to him. I think that’s partly why it’s taken me so long to make a post about her! She’s still here though, and sweet as ever.

Sniffing out the interesting things!

Sniffing out the interesting things!

We thought she was pregnant or else in heat when she first showed up, but since she has yet to have any kittens, we think maybe she’s already been spayed. She wasn’t afraid of us at all when first getting here, so I’m guessing she got dumped somewhere nearby and found her way to us. We’ve been feeding and giving her water ever since, and made a little bed on the roof (and the grill) for her to sleep in. She’s a great climber, which is good since the other neighbor cats will sometimes try to pick on her!

Hanging out with us

Hanging out with us

We tease Shikari that she’s his girlfriend, because he’ll sit at the window and meow to her all day long when she’s out there. Nelson hisses at her, of course. I wouldn’t expect any less out of him! Calypso loves getting attention, and I would brush her almost everyday. Now that she’s getting her winter coat I don’t brush her, because I’d hate to accidentally pull out some of that fur! We hope she sticks around, and if it gets really cold we might toss around the idea of letting her come inside. (More me wanting that to happen! hehe) Lucas loves her too; he’s always out there feeding her as soon as he’s up in the morning. She’s a sweetheart!

Cooling off in the shade under the gigantic pumpkin!

Cooling off in the shade under the gigantic pumpkin!

Calypso

                               Calypso

11 thoughts on “Meet Calypso!

  1. I know I’ve said this before, but these pictures are splendid! Cats never photograph well for me, but your cat is SO adorable that I’m glad I got to see! Your stories are always full of fun little snapshots into daily life (and cats ALWAYS make that better!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwwww! I want all those kitties! You two are so kind hearted. I hope Calypso comes in and fits right in with the rest of the tribe…is it a tribe of cats? Is that only for lions? Is there such a thing as a pride of lions? I think so. Let’s go with it. No matter, Calypso is beautiful, and if she’s sweet then all the more reason to love her.

    Liked by 2 people

    • 😀 I definitely think tribe of cats works! That pretty much sums them up perfectly. Nelson, the oldest cat we have, doesn’t get along with anyone, but Shikari absolutely adores her already! I’m just wondering if she would ever be happy being indoors though; we might have to try it out sometime, and make sure she doesn’t have anything that she could give to my boys! (although she seems super healthy; I think the only thing would be ticks and fleas)

      Like

  3. She is going to be gorgeous (even more gorgeous than now)!! Look at that sweet face! I’m so glad you wrote about her. I knew she showed up right after and you didn’t want to talk about her and get attached, but I’m thinking she’s got you now, :D. Awwwww!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, she definitely does. 😀 I was worried that if I talked about her something would happen (I know it doesn’t work that way, but still!) but she’s still here! I know, she’s going to be so gorgeous when she’s all grown up; her hair is long and so beautiful!! You can’t help falling in love with her. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

