Learn to Swim, Save Your Life

I am signed up for WordPress’s Blogging 201 and Writing 101 this month! If you’ve noticed a change in my header, that can be thanked to the Blogging 201 course; such great tips and tricks! As for the Writing 101 course, I’ve been mostly archiving the tips there instead of making posts, since I’ve had some post ideas the past few days already. Today’s fit in perfectly with something I’d like to talk about though, so here is the photo prompt for today’s class, and my ramblings underneath! ๐Ÿ˜‰

10294420724_0300cf921d_o

ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย Writing 101’s Photo

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, my mom, little sisters, and step-dad will be moving to Florida in the next couple of years. Super exciting, I cannot wait to visit them there! ๐Ÿ˜€ We were talking on the phone the other night, and she brought up such a great point. They’ve been looking at houses in the are they’ll be moving to, and she really wanted to get one with a pool. Maddie is only going to be four when they move though, so Mom then said they wouldn’t be doing that. However, she then had a total brainstorm and realized what she was actually going to do.

Drowning is a leading cause of death in toddlers, and I find that very disturbing, frustrating, and sad since it can so easily be avoided! (I know, seems like such downer posts from me lately, huh?) Since all the activities they’ll be doing in Florida involve the water, and being in and on the water, it doesn’t make sense for the girls to not know how to swim just because they don’t have a pool in their backyard. Plus, if they do know how to swim, they can have a pool in their backyard!

So for the next year and a half until they move, my mom will be enrolling all the girls in swimming classes year-round! Mia and Sophie are older and can swim, but only the doggie-paddle, which Mom and I both decided doesn’t count as swimming. There are even courses that teach the kids how to flip on their back and slowly get to the side if they fall into a pool fully clothed! I thought that was super awesome.

It can take as few as ten seconds for a toddler to drown, and it’s very easy for them to sneak off and then have an accident in the pool. What a reassurance of the mind to know your child can swim no matter what happens to them near a body of water no matter how small! I think learning to swim is a great and important lesson to learn while you’re young, so I definitely recommend getting your child some swimming lessons! (That is if you have a human child; I won’t be making my cat-children go through that. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

18 thoughts on “Learn to Swim, Save Your Life

  1. First, I think you’ll thoroughly enjoy those courses. I definitely did. I know I have offered this to you before {and recall you saying you’re not on FB much or at all} but if you need some extra support, please join us in Cafรฉ Blog. We’re there to help.

    Second, I remember being in a pool when I was a kid and experienced a moment of terror when I felt like I might go under, so I appreciate the necessity of knowing how to swim {even though I still can’t}. I think it’s a good idea for swimming lessons for the little ones in your family.

    Third, here’s hope we get to meet for coffee during one of your many visits to Florida! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have been so far, they’re so helpful and fun! Yes, I’m not on FB at all, but I’ve been debating it, so I’ll definitely keep in mind the Cafe Blog, thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚
      That would be terrifying! I’m glad you were able to ‘find your feet’ again, so to speak. Swimming is a great skill to have! Although if you aren’t going near any bodies of water I guess you don’t have much to worry about. ๐Ÿ™‚
      That would be a ton of fun!! I’m hoping we’ll be able to also, I’ll definitely plan on it when they’re there and we’re making the trip. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely, gotta learn!! I had a swimming race with AJ last summer and he almost beat me, I was so proud as he did so good. Gotta learn the survival techniques too, i.e., if a boat tips or you get tired or you get a cramp or tired (dead man’s float). Very important life lessons. ๐Ÿ˜€ Great post, and good luck in your 2 blogging classes!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Way to go AJ, that is really impressive! I’m glad he’s had great parents to teach him how to swim. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s very true; dead man’s float is an important one to learn! I think the girls’ classes will teach them that, but I’ll bring it up to my mom too, just to make sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Really important to learn how to swim properly…we put AJ through the various swim levels starting when he was about 5. I’m s pretty weak swimmer but Paula is strong in the water. I actually really didn’t learn to swim with any kind of technique until I was in my forties and had to take classes while all the kids were swimming like dolphins up and down the lanes! But, it got me through a triathlon though the open water versus the pool was terrifying…and still is!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s good you’ve been giving AJ swimming lessons! It’s a great thing to learn and skill to have. I could probably use some too; I can swim but don’t really have a technique nor know any. That’s so awesome you were able to do a triathlon!! How fun. I bet it was scary being in the open water, that would definitely make me nervous!

      Like

  4. Swim lessons are important – as mentioned in other comments, I also almost drowned a couple of times when I was younger – I still have a small fear of water today. Thanks for sharing an important topic. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • ๐Ÿ˜ฎ So many people have almost drowned!!! I’m so glad none of you did, that would be devastating. I definitely understand having a fear of water still today! I hope you’ve learned to swim now though. I will admit driving long distances over bridges does make me nervous, although there really isn’t any reason to be!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am terrified of drowning and always have been. Strange really as our town has an Olympic sized open lido on the shore front (no longer in use), and my mum made sure my siblings and I spent the whole of each summer practically living there. I learned how to swim and loved it, still do. I can swim like a fish. However, I’m still terrified of drowning. It makes no sense really.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Gotta love those irrational fears! I can understand it though; drowning would be a terrible way to go. I’m glad you can swim though, try not to worry about drowning – it doesn’t sound like that’s even a possibility for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

