Band Photo Weekend

Screenshot_2015-09-20-04-53-54 (2)

This weekend was pretty productive for Lunar Tides! We streamed Saturday night, and tonight! We figured we were going to practice anyway, so might as well. Friday night we were able to work on our two newest songs, so that was pretty good practice. They still need a lot more work, but we’re getting there.

I figured I’ll tell you a little about what I do to get ready to play the bass and what I do afterward. It’s not much actually. My new bass (which you can read about here) is actually a lot heavier than my previous one. This isn’t too big of a deal, however, when I’m playing a couple hours three days in a row, it really starts making my shoulder hurt! An easy fix would be to just start practicing more often and muscle up my shoulder! We’ll get there. 🙂

Before we play I make sure to wash my hands. It’s a very delicate balance to have the right amount of ‘slide’ for my fingers. I have Finger Ease which is a spray for my strings when they start getting tough while sliding my fingers. The natural oils in my skin actually make it worse though, especially when I get hot while playing and start to sweat. I definitely don’t want to have too much natural oils on my strings, or I won’t be able to get any type of grip! Therefore, hand washing is a must! Plus good hygiene.

I tune my bass up, of course, and that’s pretty much all I need to do to get ready. Then I’ll kind of practice a few riffs to make sure I know what I’m doing. 😉 After we get done playing, I’ll usually wipe my bass down with a cloth; since it’s black it picks up a lot of finger marks. When we get back home I wash my hands again; they get black stuff on them from the strings, probably dust and dirt and whatnot. I then will put lotion on to soften up my fingers since the strings are pretty thick on a bass! Again, definitely no lotion beforehand-that would be disastrous! My fingers would be sliding everywhere.

If my shoulder continues to hurt after we’ve been done playing for awhile, or my arm, I’ll put Icy Hot on it. I love that stuff! My right arm sometimes will hurt from my elbow to wrist; I play with my fingers and not a pick, so I think sometimes it puts strain on my arm playing and holding my arm that certain way.

Like I said, not very much goes into it, but I figured I’d let you all in on my pre and post playing procedures. 🙂 And here’s a final picture of us I took while watching our past broadcast on Twitch!

20150920_045226

4 thoughts on “Band Photo Weekend

    • Thank you!! That’d be pretty awesome. 😀 Yes: you click on the Twitch link in the post and once it takes you to that page click on the link that says LunarTidesMusic right underneath the banner and it’ll go to another page, and that should be on the Past Broadcasts page. Once there you just click on a video and watch! You can mouse through it like a YouTube video so you don’t have to watch the whole thing; they’re about two hours each. I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to watch a little bit! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

