Moments Before the Storm

I am again participating in Shafali’s Creativity Carnival! Please go check out the post I’m responding to, and you still have time to get yours in for this week! I’ll display the cue art and then my short story below:

creativity-carnival-blogging-event-for-bloggers-the-bell-pen-and-ink

The distant clouds loomed darker and closer with every gaining minute. It wasn’t supposed to storm until tonight! There was still so much to do! I could see jagged lightning strikes working their way toward the farm. Emily would be running out soon to check on the animals and making sure the barn doors were closed as tightly as the old wood would allow. It was the same every time a storm rolled in, and I smiled to myself at Emily’s predictability.

Sure enough, less than five minutes had passed, and she was running out in her yellow-flowered rain boots, calling to the horses and cows to hurry up and get inside the barn! I ran over to help her out, and yelled at the cows too. She glanced my way and gave me that goofy grin only Emily can muster up. I smiled back and did a little jump in the dirt before getting back to yelling at the cows.

It wasn’t long before they were all in the barn, I guess maybe they’re smarter than I give them credit for, they knew it was going to downpour at any moment. I grabbed my toy from the front yard and ran for the steps before it did start raining and my hair could get sopping wet.

I paused for a moment to make sure Emily made it to the house too, and a little spider caught my eye. I asked what it was doing, and it paused for a second before continuing building its web. I realized it was nestled snugly between the bell Emily rang to announce feeding time, and the porch roof. That spider had a perfect view of the storm, and wouldn’t get wet at all! I shook my head for realizing I now had to give Two species a little extra credit.

Emily came bounding up the steps with my revelation, just as the first rain drops began to fall from the sky. I give her a kiss on the hand and we run inside together, her to start some coffee, and me to lie on the rug beside the fireplace, chewing on my favorite rawhide bone.

10 thoughts on “Moments Before the Storm

    • Thank you!! I enjoy writing short stories like that; it makes it fun to leave it ambiguous until the end. Plus there are certain things that make you think it’s strange for a person to do, and then you’re like ah! once you realize. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Loved it. I was wondering who was the narrator of the story…by the time I reached the end, I had started getting a feel of who it was. I’m still wondering whether the spider fell off when Emily rang the bell πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you liked it!! πŸ™‚ I think it’s fun to write short stories where you don’t know who’s narrating until the end. I’m glad you were picking up on it though! I think the spider either moved beforehand, or else had a string of webbing and slid down. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

