Information: Silly Silos and Dropping Blood Sugars

For those of you reading who don’t know, I am a type 1 diabetic. I would like to now take the time to share with you what it feels like when your blood sugar goes from high to low at a rapid pace. This is what I am currently experiencing. Now, I have also had it go from high to low at a slower pace, and that doesn’t bother me at all. I don’t even notice it. (And please note, this blog is about me and my perceptions/feelings. I’m not saying all diabetics feel this way) So I checked my blood sugar about an hour and a half ago and it was 331. I felt fine, not even like it was high so probably a good thing I checked it. I have an insulin pump and it gives me the correction accordingly. There’s more that goes into it, but I won’t bore you with the details. At first I felt nothing, and then I felt it dropping. At first my head started hurting, and then I started to feel nauseous. If you’ve been on a Silly Silo or its equivalent, imagine stepping off of one and that’s pretty much the feeling. Then, I start having trouble breathing. Not really trouble, I just feel short of breath and have to take deep breaths and it feels like I had exhaled for far too long before taking the next breath without realizing it. Then, I begin to feel shaky on top of everything else and my hands start to shake. I’m lucky enough to have a sensor along with my pump, and right now it shows that my blood sugar should be around 180 and dropping. Hopefully it will stop and plane out soon, if not I’ll have to take care of a low blood sugar and then it’ll probably spike and the vicious cycle repeats! So there you have it, for all those wondering (and I know you all have been) about what it feels like to have your blood sugar drop rapidly, go ride a Silly Silo and find out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

