Happy Mothers’ Day!

To all the mom’s out there – Happy Mother’s Day! Today is a special one; one to celebrate the great person we call “Mom”. My mother is, of course, the absolute best one out there. (As I’m sure most everyone says.) In my case, it’s true. My mother is an RN, a runner, a source of inspiration, my hero, a caretaker of six children (seven if you count my step-dad), a million smiles, a laugh or shoulder depending on what you need, and an overall amazing person. She’s genuinely interested in my life, and always has been. She taught me how to be the best person I can be, and to not sweat the little things. I pierced my own lip when I was in high school, and at first she was livid. I didn’t want to take it out considering it had taken me over an hour to do, and told her I wasn’t going to. In hindsight, I should have listened to her, but then again I was a teenager and how else was I really supposed to react? After a few hours though, she said, “In the scheme of life, it doesn’t really matter,” and let me keep it in. I use those words all the time, it’s a great outlook on life. I know a lot of people, myself included, that act a little differently around certain others. We mold ourselves to be more acceptable in the presence of certain individuals. Not with my mom. You can be whatever crazy individual you are, and she loves you for it. (Unless you’re psychotic-then please leave my mom alone.) The last time I visited her with my boyfriend, we sat around drinking, talking and having a great time. I can be me, and she loves that I’m me and I love that she loves that. So much love! She went through nursing school raising two young kids, kept the straightest A’s possible, and still found time to cook dinner and give everyone enough attention. I don’t know how she did it, and still does. I’m pretty sure she’s Wonder Woman. This is her day, and although I couldn’t make it up to see her, I know she had an amazing one. I don’t know what I’d do without my mom, she’s the best friend I’ve ever had, and the scariest person ever when I was in trouble. 😛 But that’s exactly what she needed to be, and I think I turned out pretty well. I love you, Mom. You’re wonderful, beautiful, smart, and amazing. Don’t forget that, and don’t lose it. Happy Mother’s Day.

Leave a Reply

