Movie Night

So tonight I watched Short Term 12 which is an amazing movie. I believe it was very under appreciated on account of I hadn’t heard of it and it came out quite awhile ago. (And yes, my boyfriend and I are very up-to-date on movies.) It follows real life struggles kids go through and how things from childhood can haunt you into your adult life. I feel like the movie industry and society in general feels these themes are a threat. Hence why this film probably wasn’t talked about much. I’m not sure why though, we’ve all gone through struggles in life and will continue to do so. It’s pretty much a given being human. So why is everyone so scared of being yourself and relating to dark shit? I’m not really sure, but I think this needs to change, and mental awareness plus healthy ways of dealing with things need to be presented as okay and something everyone could use. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

